Currituck County Currituck County Image
 

Board of Elections

The Currituck County Board of Elections conducts Federal, State, and County elections. This department has the overall responsibility for administration of voter registration, the electoral process, and campaign finance disclosures.

The Board of Elections operates under a three member board appointed every two years by the State Board of Elections. The present board consists of: Karen Ish, Chair; Alice Malesky, Secretary; and Sheila Tyler, Member.

Important News Related to the General Election on Tuesday, November 4, 2014.

  • General Election Sample Ballot
  • The voter registration deadline is Friday, October 10, 2014.
  • All mail-in absentee requests must be on a form supplied by this office or the State Board of Elections.
    New Required Form.
  • UOCAVA Election Notice. 
  • One-Stop voting period is Thursday, October 23 - Saturday, November 1, 2014.
  • One-Stop voting hours at the Board of Elections office are as follows: 

               Thursday, Oct. 23:  7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
               Friday, Oct. 24:  7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
               Saturday, Oct. 25:  8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
               Sunday, Oct. 26:  Closed
               Monday, Oct. 27:  8:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m.
               Tuesday, Oct. 28:  8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
               Wednesday, Oct. 29:  8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
               Thursday, Oct. 30:  7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
               Friday, Oct. 31:  7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
               Saturday, Nov. 1:  8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 

What This Department Does

  • Conducts Federal, State and County elections
  • Registers all eligible voters who meet age and residency requirements
  • Tallies elections results
  • Appoints and trains precinct officials
  • Maintains records on registered voters and voting patterns in the County
  • Provides for the purchase of printouts, diskettes, and address labels

Easy Things You Can Do

Beginning in 2016, North Carolina will require voters to show a photo identification (photo ID) when they present to vote in person. This change is a result of the Voter Information Verification Act or "VIVA."

Contact Information

Rachel Boyce Raper, Director
P.O. Box 177
Currituck, NC 27929-0177
Phone: 252-232-2525
Fax: 252-232-2427
E-mail: Send Rachel Raper an email.

Brandie Draves, Deputy Director
P.O. Box 177
Currituck, NC 27929-0177
Phone: 252-232-2525
Fax: 252-232-2427
 


Board of Elections Location

Governmental Center Complex
2811 Caratoke Hwy.
Currituck, NC 27929

Office Hours

Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.